Rank Maryland counties by federal spending
Top 25 by obligations in FY2025. Leading: (no county: statewide or not reported) ($19.40B); MONTGOMERY, MD ($18.03B); BALTIMORE (CITY), MD ($10.87B).
| County fips | Obligations | County |
|---|---|---|
| $19.40B | (no county: statewide or not reported) | |
| 24031 | $18.03B | Montgomery, MD |
| 24510 | $10.87B | Baltimore (City), MD |
| 24033 | $10.17B | Prince Georges, MD |
| 24005 | $8.68B | Baltimore, MD |
| 24027 | $8.59B | Howard, MD |
| 24003 | $8.44B | Anne Arundel, MD |
| 24037 | $5.37B | Saint Marys, MD |
| 24025 | $4.08B | Harford, MD |
| 24021 | $3.11B | Frederick, MD |
| 24017 | $1.41B | Charles, MD |
| 24013 | $1.17B | Carroll, MD |
| 24043 | $1.13B | Washington, MD |
| 24015 | $782.55M | Cecil, MD |
| 24009 | $693.63M | Calvert, MD |
| 24045 | $689.87M | Wicomico, MD |
| 24047 | $545.52M | Worcester, MD |
| 24001 | $520.49M | Allegany, MD |
| 24041 | $480.62M | Talbot, MD |
| 24035 | $419.00M | Queen Anne'S, MD |
| 24019 | $259.64M | Dorchester, MD |
| 24023 | $244.29M | Garrett, MD |
| 24011 | $222.12M | Caroline, MD |
| 24039 | $190.44M | Somerset, MD |
| 24029 | $183.50M | Kent, MD |
Open the full answer with chart and filters →
How to read this
- Amounts are obligations (money committed), not outlays (money paid).
- Location is where the work is performed, not where the recipient is based.
- Medicare payments are published as aggregate records placed where Medicare's claims contractors are (mostly Minnesota, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Kentucky, North Dakota, Connecticut, Florida and South Carolina), not where patients live, so those states show far more HHS money than their population suggests (ask for Medicare payments by patients' home state for where beneficiaries live).
- '(outside the US)' is work performed abroad; '(not reported)' has no location in the source.